The 8th Oxford University
SIAM Student Chapter

Date: 27 April 2016
Location: Mathematical Institute, University of Oxford


The 8th annual Oxford SIAM Student Conference was hosted on Wednesday 27 April 2016 in the Mathematical Institute of the University of Oxford.

The aim of the conference is to bring together undergraduate and graduate students, young researchers, and faculty from a wide range of disciplines sharing a common interest in industrial and applied mathematics. Participants will have the opportunity to interact with one another, share their research/study interests, and make useful contacts from the academic community and industry.

Keynote Speakers

The opening talk was given by Julia Yeomans, FRS, FInstP, who is a Professor of Physics at the University of Oxford. She uses analytical techniques as well as sophisticated computational methods to advance research in the areas of soft matter and biological physics with special focus on the dynamics of soft-matter, active systems, motility at low Reynolds number, and the interactions of fluids with structured surfaces. Her work was recognised with the EPJE Pierre Gilles De Gennes Lecture Prize in 2013.

The closing talk was given by Mike Giles, who is a Professor of Scientific Computing at the University of Oxford. His research focuses on Multilevel Monte Carlo methods which are nowadays applied in a wide range of applications that have a stochastic nature to reduce the order of complexity and the associated computation costs of simulations.


Matthew Saxton won the award for the best talk for “√t, or not √t, that is the question”.

Rachel Philip won the award for the best poster presentation for “Modelling oil droplet formation in turbulent oil plumes”.


The conference took place in Lecture Room 3 in the Mathematical Institute, University of Oxford.

9:30-10:00    Registration.

10:00-10:05  Prof Dominic Vella, University of Oxford: Opening Remarks.

10:05-10:50  Prof Julia Yeomans, University of Oxford, Active nematics: topology in biology.

10:50-11:10  James Kwiecinski, University of Oxford, Self-assembly in mechanical systems.

11:10-11:30  Alice Schwarze, University of Oxford, Redundancy, degeneracy, and robustness in protein-interaction networks.

11:30-12:00  Coffee Break

12:00-12:20  Sean Lim, University of Oxford, An introduction to Bayesian inverse problems.

12:20-12:40  Marco Agnese, Imperial College London, Fitted finite element discretization of two-phase Navier-Stokes flow.

12:40-13:00  Jamie Taylor, University of Oxford, Convex duality methods for a non-convex minimisation problem.

13:00-14:00  Lunch Break

14:00-14:30  Poster Session

14:30-14:50  Anton Mühlemann, University of Oxford, On optimal lattice transformations.

14:50-15:10  Stuart Thomson, University of Oxford, Violent elastic-plastic wave interactions.

15:10-15:30  Matthew Saxton, University of Oxford, √t, or not √t, that is the question.

15:30-15:50  Doireann O’Kiely, University of Oxford, Stretching and buckling of thin viscous sheets.

15:50-16:20  Coffee break

16:20-16:40  Paul Taylor, University of Oxford, Random walks and volume-exclusion: reconciling models of diffusive transport across scales.

16:40-17:25  Prof Mike Giles, University of Oxford , Multilevel Monte Carlo methods.

17:25-17:40  Closing Remarks/Awards

17:40-19:00   Pizza and Drinks in the Common Room


Extended conference programme with abstracts

Download (PDF, 115KB)


The conference was hosted in the new Mathematical Institute, located on Woodstock road. The address and a map of the location can be found below.

Address details:

Mathematical Institute
University of Oxford
Andrew Wiles Building
Radcliffe Observatory Quarter
Woodstock Road


For accommodation you can try booking with one of the local hotels, B&Bs or hostels near the Mathematical Institute. We give a list of a few locations, but this is not exhaustive:

Oxford Backpackers, Central Backpackers Oxford, YHA Oxford, Star B&B, Parklands B&B, Eurobar Cafe & Hotel

You may also try booking with University accommodation.

 Financial Support

We were unfortunately not able to provide financial support for attending the conference this year.